Lanzini charged by FA for dive against Stoke

West Ham United attacker Manuel Lanzini has been charged by the FA for diving to win a penalty during the Premier League encounter with Stoke on Saturday, it has been announced.

The Argentine went down under a challenge from Erik Pieters, which led to Hammers captain Mark Noble stepping up and converting from the spot, to give the Londoners a valuable 1-0 lead.

Image source: @manulanzini on Twitter

The decision left Potters manager Mark Hughes infuriated, with the 3-0 home defeat piling yet more pressure on the 54-year-old, as they flirt with the relegation places, only one point and place above third-bottom Newcastle United.

Lanzini has been given until 6pm on Tuesday to respond to the charges imposed against him, which is now officially known as the “successful deception of a match official” – which was in this case referee Graham Scott.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s